The monsoon’s here!! yay!! but….


Ola everyone!! I hope you’re all enjoying this awesome monsoon time in India. The rains this year are just crazy! Takes me back to 10 years ago, when I was still in college. It poured every hour! Although the wet roads, and the wet clothes during the college lectures, and the crazy wind chill was annoying at that time, little did I think that I would miss the never ending rains few years later. Since I graduated college to about now, rains have been scarce. I remember last year was such a drought! But woohoo, the old rains are back!

I fail to understand if this is environmental hazard or environmental reboot, but I’m just glad that the rains are back. Ofcourse, my car keeps me dry now, and I guess that makes it more enjoyable.

Long drives, vada-pav, and chai… oh man! I’m absolutely exploiting this season. I’m sure you are too, and you should!

However, the only thing that saddens me on the street are the poor street animals in their matted, and now wet coats trying to get around the puddles of pools and stagnant water. Confused, heavy, and absolutely lost dogs and cats trying to make their best in the chill and the wet!

Did you know fur takes 10 times longer to dry “completely” than our hair after a head- wash? Geezus, can you imagine carrying a wet head to work, social meeting, and to bed? I dont think I would let water touch my head for a few months, until absolutely necessary! Then all the dust from the streets adding to the wetness! Oh, so repulsive!

So remember to be kind to the street animals this season. If you are the kinds to give them food and warm mat to sleep on, dont forget a few points –

– jute takes forever to dry. So ensure a nice pastic wrap in between so that the animals will not be succumbed to sleeping on a wet mat with wet fur, in wet surroundings.

– ensure that the place where you keep their mat is dry and not bombarded with feet, and people. We have a lot of pedestrians in our city, and wet puddled roads are not great for walking. I always find pedestrians so grumpy walking in the wet, and generally the poor street animals are the scapegoats to this.

– if you’re going to dish out some water for the animals, ensure that the water is the one that you’d drink too! Water during monsoons contain a lot of germs, that could be harmful for the animals, causing diarrhea, or even vomit. So ensure clean water!

Hope you’ll help to make it as enjoyable for the street animals, as you would too in this season of hot “chai aur vada pav.”

Published by: shwetalogy

Camera | Car | Coffee | Cigarettes | Cats - are 5 things I can't live without. I worry about the world in every sense, including our deteriorating capitalism, culture, environment, families, and politics. Connecting dots to all the above is my hobby, which I pen down here. Everything in the world is connected, and we need to find the wedges to swim through for a better future. I am funny like that, and I love clicking photographs, you can follow my instagram @shwetalogy

Categories UncategorizedLeave a comment

Leave a Reply

